Do I look focused?

11 Aug

I am constantly looking for ways to avoid my time spent staring at an Excel spreadsheet. Bowling Wednesdays are really helpful because they occupy about an hour and a 1/2 of my day and fill it with yells and random dances of victory- but most importantly ranchy chicken fingers. All of these things make me really happy in the small scheme that is my life. And while an hour and a 1/2 is a delightful time span spent away from the cube farm, the rest of my day is spent in it. Trapped. And yes, I referenced a cube farm. It’s a real ‘adult’ term that people that live in cubes like me use to describe the lives they spend being able to see there neighbors but still be separated by sheets of glass- like animals. In stalls…at a farm…see where I’m going with this?

So I must root around in the cyber world for things that I consider “worth my time” and can apply to my daily life, such as: pictures of cute animals, pictures of people attacked by animals, videos of animals dancing, videos of people dancing with animals, videos of animals dancing with animals, pictures of people with animals….well, you get the gist.

And then I am sent things like a picture of a meatloaf cake shaped like a baby on my work email from a farm animal down the stalls. Don’t believe that these things exist? Please visit http://www.facebook.com/pages/Meatloaf-Baby/145444178832856 and have all your nightmares come true. I cannot imagine a workplace environment in my future where I am ever sent a meatloaf baby cake…and for this, my heart weighs heavily. Or maybe I should be concerned. Hmmm.

As for focusing on my excel sheets? Maybe I would like them more if they had something half interesting on them. I don’t even get to do calculations and pretend like my job involves strategy or statistics or Cost Analysis Projections. Until then, I will work on memorizing www.cuteoverload.com and www.zooborns.com and www.teacuppiggies.com. Maybe after all of that  I will look focused.

3 Responses to “Do I look focused?”

  1. Anismandy August 11, 2011 at 8:04 pm #

    And then there are the days when all is quiet in the cube farm, when all of a sudden a thunderous burst of maniacal laughter echoes through the office for reasons unbeknownst to us farm animals.
    That + meatloaf baby = concentration gone.

    • Finchy August 11, 2011 at 8:47 pm #

      It was a decapitated rooster that let out that cackle…

      • Anismandy August 11, 2011 at 9:20 pm #

        Ah! I was wondering where that rooster had run off to. I’m glad he assured us of his presence.

Leave a Reply

